ICC World XI players arrive in Pakistan

ICC World XI players arrive in Pakistan

Pakistan to host international cricket again with World XI tour featuring five African and three Australian players

Pakistan Cricket Board is all set to stage the three-match Independence Cup Twenty20 series, hoping the revival of International cricket in the country.

ICC’s World XI squad led by South African skipper Faf du Plessis arrived at Allama Iqbal International Airport Lahore in early in the morning.

The team World XI comprises of thirteen players from seven top cricket-playing nations featuring five players from South Africa, 3 players from Australia and remaining from other cricketing nations.

Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board Najam Sethi along with sports minister Jahangir Khanzada and other officials warmly welcomed the Faf du Plessis-led World XI side amid massive security.

The World XI is scheduled to play three T20 matches of the Independence Cup in Lahore on September 12, 13, and 15, in a historic series which sees international cricket return to the country after a drought of eight years The World XI features du Plessis’ countrymen Hashim Amla and David Miller, plus Bangladesh’s Tamim Iqbal, New Zealand’s Grant Elliott, England’s Paul Collingwood and Australia’s George Bailey in a strong batting line-up. A potent bowling attack comprises South Africa’s Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir, with Australian Ben Cutting and West Indies’ Samuel Badree and Darren Sammy.

After his arrival in Lahore, the World XI coach Andy Flower shared a video message in which he said to be glad for being in Pakistan. He thanked the people for a warm welcome at Lahore’s Allama Iqbal International Airport.

Giles Clarke, the ICC Director, who had visited Lahore in January, was optimistic that the series will be the first step towards international cricket returning safely to Pakistan.

The ICC has accorded international status to these matches, the series will provide an opportunity to the players to boost their individual rankings.

The World XI tour is a major breakthrough for the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), which had been working to attract international cricket to the country.

No team, excluding Zimbabwe cricket that played limited-overs series in 2015, has visited Pakistan since the 2009 terrorists attack on Sri Lanka cricket team.

Some 8,000 police and paramilitary forces will guard teams as they travel back and forth from Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

Roads and shops will be closed around the 27,000-capacity venue, while spectators will have to pass through multiple security checkpoints.

Below you can see the squads for World Xi tour of Pakistan, 2017


Sarfraz Ahmed(c), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf , Hasan Ali, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees, Usman Khan, Sohail Khan

World XI:

David Miller, Morne Morkel, Tim Paine, Thisara Perera, Imran Tahir, Darren Sammy, Hashim Amla, Grant Elliott, Samuel Badree, George Bailey, Tamim Iqbal, Paul Collingwood, Ben Cutting, Faf du Plessis(c)


— 1st T20I, September 12, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore  at 8:30PM

— 2nd T20I, September 13, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore at 8:00PM

— 3rd T20I,  September 15, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore at 8:00PM

About Sayyar Gul

Sayyar Gul is doing his MS Computational Sciences & Engineering from National University of Science and Technology. He is technology enthusiast with keen interest in new technological developments from around the world.
Copyright © 2020 TVI