Imran Khan sworn in as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Imran Khan sworn in as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Imran Khan takes oath as PM in Islamabad, after being elected as prime minister on Friday

ISLAMABAD – Imran Khan has been as sworn in as Pakistan’s new prime minister after his party’s victory in July 2018 general elections.

Khan’s party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) is in power for the first time since it began its political struggle 22 years ago and campaign against corruption and government mismanagement.

Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath at a ceremony in the capital city of Islamabad on Saturday which was attended by political and military leaders, diplomats, sports stars as well as celebrities.

A tearful Khan, clad in a traditional black sherwani, smiled as he stumbled over some of the words of the oath administered to him.

He swore to “bear true faith and allegiance to Pakistan”, and to “discharge my duties and perform my functions honestly, to the best of my ability… and always in the interest of the sovereignty, integrity, solidarity, well-being and prosperity of Pakistan.”

After taking the oath as premier, Khan and First Lady Bushra Imran greeted various guests.

High-profile guests at the ceremony included Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa, Air Chief Marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan and Naval Chief Admiral Zafar Mahmood Abbasi, caretaker Prime Minister Nasirul Mulk and National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser.

Other notable guests included senior PTI leaders, cricketer-turned-commentator Rameez Raja, newly elected Punjab Assembly Speaker Chaudhry Pervez Elahi, singers Salman Ahmed and Abrarul Haq, actor Javaid Sheikh as well as Indian cricketer-turned-politician, Navjot Singh Sidhu.

Khan was elected as the prime minister by parliament on Friday as his party, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI), swept the election, vowing to end corruption an bring prosperity to the country.

On Friday, Khan secured 176 votes, beating Shahbaz Sharif, president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), who got 96.

“In this country, before everything else, we have to make sure there is accountability,” said Khan, in a speech after the vote in parliament. “Those who have looted this country and indebted it, I promise this today that no one will escape.”

About TVI

Copyright © 2020 TVI